Skip to content

Teosto Prize goes to FOLK by Jesse Markin and Totte Rautiainen

The 2020 Teosto Prize was awarded to Jesse Markin’s and Totte Rautiainen’s compositions and lyrics for the album FOLK by the jury’s unanimous decision. 
The five-person jury selected the winner from among the seven works and collections of works picked by the preliminary selection panel. Yle’s Creative Director Ville Vilén was the Chairman of the jury. The jury members were conductor Dalia Stasevska along with last year’s Teosto Prize winners, composer Sebastian Hilli and music authors Stina Koistinen and Nicolas ’Leissi’ Rehn. Nicolas ’Leissi’ Rehn, who arranged some of the music for FOLK, did not take part in the jury’s discussion about FOLK due to having a conflict of interest.   
“We would like to thank the preliminary selection panel for selecting a diverse set of nominees representing a wide variety of genres. However, after the intensive listening stage, the jury was perfectly unanimous on which work should win: FOLK. It consists of fantastic songs and is a cohesive and considered whole that enraptures the listener,” the jury said.
Awarded since 2003, the Teosto Prize is one of the most noteworthy art prizes in the Nordic countries. If the prize is awarded to one work, the prize is EUR 25,000. 

The jury described the album FOLK as follows:  

The excellent songs and perceptively explored themes successfully combine different influences and styles. The album is a balanced, high-quality work that was skillfully made and carries the listener from the beginning to the end, able to do anything.
In addition to the winning work, the jury also wanted to highlight Signe’s collection of works To Sappho, in which the jury heard originality and inventiveness worthy of an honourable mention.    

Seven works or collections of works were nominated for the prize

This year, the preliminary selection panel consisting of music professionals selected seven works or collections of works as nominees for the Teosto Prize. In addition to the winner stated above, the nominees were:
Hattarahiukset – Sur-rur
Ville Vuorenmaa’s compositions and lyrics as well as Ville Vuorenmaa’s, Kimmo Pohjapelto’s and Ville Laurila’s arrangements for the album Hattarahiukset.

Lehtojärven Hirvenpää – Lehtojärven Hirvenpää
Harri Kuusijärvi’s compositions and Jaakko Laitinen’s lyrics for the album Lehtojärven Hirvenpää.

Näytän missä asun – M
Minja Koski’s compositions and lyrics for the album M – Näytän missä asun.

…On Escher – Sami Klemola
Sami Klemola’s composition …on Escher.

Syrtti – OK:KO
Okko Saastamoinen’s compositions for the album Syrtti.

To Sappho – Signe
Compositions and arrangements by Josefiina Vannesluoma, Selma Savolainen, Mikko Sarvanne and Sampo Kasurinen for texts by Sappho, Edith Södergran, Josefiina Vannesluoma and Selma Savolainen for the album To Sappho.

The Teosto Prize is awarded to bold, original and innovative works

Teosto established the prize in 2003 with the aim of promoting creative Finnish music. The prize – which is funded by composers, music authors and music publishers represented by Teosto – seeks to highlight bold, original and innovative Finnish musical works. This year, the prize was awarded for the 17th time.
The prize is awarded to between one and four works or collections of works, and the maximum amount of prize money is EUR 40,000. If the prize is awarded to a single work or collection of works, the prize is EUR 25,000. The works may represent any genre, but they must have been produced after the previous award season. 
The nominees were selected by a preliminary selection panel. This year, the panel consisted of musician and music journalist Arttu Tolonen (panel chairman), music journalist and non-fiction writer Mervi Vuorela, music journalist Lotta Emanuelsson, music researcher and music journalist Mikael Mattila, journalist Katri Kallionpää, violinist Eriikka Maalismaa and DJ Bunuel.

Share on social media
Change cookie settings

A cookie is a small text file that is stored on your computer or other device and records information about your visit to the Website. Teosto uses cookies to improve the usability of its services.

Information collected by cookies is not usually connected with the personal data of an identified person, but some information collected by cookies may be indirectly connected with the personal data of an identified person.

Learn more by reading our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy

Cookie categories
Strictly necessary cookies

These cookies are strictly necessary to ensure the availability of our website. They do things such as load some of our website’s functions in advance to make the website load faster. Strictly necessary cookies are also used to determine and remember your settings. You can disable strictly necessary cookies in your browser settings, but please note that all of the website’s functions and parts may not work properly after that.
More information about cookies

Analytics cookies

We use analytics cookies to improve the functioning of our website. Analytics cookies collect information about things such as how visitors use our website and how they navigate from one page to another. The information is used in anonymous form.
More information: Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy

Functionality cookies

Functionality cookies allow us to offer various functions, such as playlists and a live chat service, on our website. If you disable functionality cookies, some or all of these functions may not work properly. More information about cookies

Marketing cookies

Marketing cookies help us tailor marketing and offer the users of our website more personalised services in the future. We use marketing cookies to collect information about the user’s behaviour and preferences on our website.
More information about cookies